Historic Preservation Program

Historic Elizabeth Main Street

The Town of Elizabeth is a Certified Local Government through History Colorado.  The program exists to protect the town’s architectural and cultural heritage by protecting  its historic resources and providing incentives for historic preservation.



John Quest, Chair (Term ends 12/31/2024)
Aimee Woodall, Vice-Chair (Term ends 12/31/2024)
Bob Rasmussen, Historian, (Term ends 12/31/2025) 
Dennis Rodriguez, Board Member (Term ends 12/31/2025) 
Open Position, Board Member (Term ends 12/31/2025)
Jacque Hallett, Board Member (Term ends 12/31/2026)
Lynn Mitchell, Board Member (Term ends 12/31/2026)
One open position on the Historic Advisory Board; Town residency not required for Board position; Contact Community Development 303-646-4166 x4
The Historic Advisory Board meets the first Monday of every month at 4:30 p.m.



Designated as a Historic Structure by Elizabeth Board of Trustees

228 S Banner Street, Resolution 99R03, 3/23/1999

589 S Banner Street, Resolution 00R01, 1/25/2000

286 S Main Street, Resolution 01R15, 5/22/2001

188 S Main Street, Resolution 03R05, 8/12/2003

338 S Main Street, Resolution 03R06, 8/26/2003

619 S Main Street, Resolution 03R08, 9/23/2003

473 S Pine Street, Resolution 04R05, 2/24/2004

271 S Main Street, Resolution 06R06, 5/23/2006

Colorado State Register of Historic Properties 

239 S Main Street, 5EL.295, 3/8/1996

188 S Main Street, 5EL.321, 3/10/2023

National Register of Historic Places

188 S Main Street, 5EL.321, 3/10/2023




A presentation by History Colorado on Tax Credits and Grants was held at the Historic Advisory Board meeting on Monday, July 17, 2023 and is available below. 


In 2022, the Historic Advisory Board and Town Staff created and distributed a survey to reevaluate how the Town's citizens and patrons felt about historic preservation.  The purpose was to ensure that the Town code reflected those thoughts on preservation.   A copy of the document is provided below:  Historic Preservation Survey Results 2022.  You may also contact the Community Development office for additional information.